top of page

Steering Committee Members

Brandon J. Blue, MD  (Co-Chair)

Assistant Member,
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center And
Research Institute Foundation

Fatima Rodriguez, MD, MPH, FACC, FAHA (Co-Chair)

Assistant Professor, Cardiovascular Medicine
Stanford University; Associate Editor,
New England Journal of Medicine Journal Watch Cardiology

David S. Kountz, MD, MBA, MACP (Co-Chair)

Co-Chief Academic Officer, Hackensack Meridian Health; Professor of Medicine and Senior Associate Dean, Diversity & Equity, Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine

Gladys P. Velarde, MD, FACC (Co-Chair) 

 Professor of Medicine; 

Medical Director, Cardiovascular Women's Heart Program; Director, CVD Fellowship 

College of Medicine, University of Florida

Joshua Berry, MPH

Director, Chronic Disease Risk Factors
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials 

Susan Cantrell

Chief Executive Officer
Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy


Corey Coleman, MBA

Vice President of Health Equity
& Strategic Partnerships


Jason Deen, MD

Pediatric Cardiologist, Seattle Children’s Hospital
Member, Association of American Indian Physicians

Stacy Ellsworth, RN, MSN, CCRC

Board Member, AntiCoagulation Forum
Clinical Research Associate, Henry Ford Health

Celina Gorre, MPA, MPH

Chief Executive Officer

 WomenHeart: The National Coalition for Women with Heart Disease 

Ryan Gough

 Executive Director,
Partnership to Advance Cardiovascular Health

Lydia Isaac, PhD

Vice President, Health Equity and Policy
National Urban League

Maimah Karmo

Tigerlily Foundation

Melissa Lewis, MPH

Director, Health Equity
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials 

Andrea Lowe, MBA, MHA, PA-C

Director, Health Equity
Partnerships and DE&I Initiatives
American Academy of PAs and 
PA Foundation

David Montgomery, MD, PhD, FACC

Cardiologist, PREventClinic
National Health Contributor

Latha Palaniappan, MD, MS

Professor of Medicine, Primary Care & Population Health, Co-Director, Center for Asian Health Research & Education, 
The Stanford University Medical Center

Ileana Pina, MD, MPH

Professor of Medicine, Wayne State University, Clinical Professor of Medicine, Central Michigan University, Director CVD Research and Academic Affairs, Regional and National Director of Heart Failure, Detroit Medical Center

Elena Rios, MD, MSPH

President and Chief Executive Officer
National Hispanic Medical Association

Carlos Jose Rodriguez, MD, MPH, FACC, FAHA

Vice Chair for Academic Affairs
Director, Clinical Cardiology Research
Director, Cardiovascular Epidemiology
Albert Einstein College of Medicine 

Alex Sheldon, MA

Executive Director
GLMA: Health Professionals Advancing
LGBTQ+ Equality

Hal Smith, Ed.D

Senior Vice President, Education, Youth Development, and Health
National Urban League

Barbara Tombros

Board Member
WomenHeart: The National Coalition for Women with Heart Disease 

Veronica Vital, PhD, RN


Clinical Assistant Professor at
University of Arizona, College of Nursing
Board Member, National Association
of Hispanic Nurses

Setu Vora, MD

Chief Medical Officer,
Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation

Advisory Panel Members

RADM Richardae Araojo, PharmD, MS

Associate Commissioner for Minority Health

Director, Office of Minority Health

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Patrice Desvigne-Nickens, MD

Medical Officer, Heart Failure and Arrhythmias
Division of Cardiovascular Sciences
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute 

Nicole Redmond, MD, PhD, MPH

Medical Officer, Div. of Cardiovascular Sciences
Clinical Applications and Prevention Branch
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

bottom of page